Password Protected Directories
Discover more on password-protected directories and what they bring to your site.
A password-protected directory or area is a folder that could be accessed only if a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people can view its content. This function could be used for the primary folder of a given website or just for a particular subfolder based upon your requirements. As an example, when you are creating a new site and you don't want people to see it before it's ready, you may want to restrict the access to it altogether, whereas if you want only some individuals to be able to access certain files, you are able to password-protect only a certain folder, while the other parts of the Internet site could be seen by anyone. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear if the login details the visitor inputs are not right. Even a direct link to a file won't work as long as any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
When you use any of our shared website hosting solutions, you will be able to make password-protected areas with ease even if you have no experience with such matters. We've built in a very easy-to-use point-and-click tool within the Hepsia CP, supplied with all accounts, so you'll be able to shield any folder within just a few seconds. You'll only have to choose a domain or a subdomain and the particular folder which has to be protected (the primary one or a subfolder), and then to type the preferred username and password which will be used to access the folder in question at some point. Every secured folder shall have padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you shall be able to see instantly what content is secured and what's not. If required, you can create several different sets of login details for precisely the same folder.